



Australian Institute of Landscape Architects

**DATE** Thursday 15 October 2020 **TIME** 11:00am (AEDT)

**PROGRAM** Zoom

Annual General Meeting Australian Institute of Landscape Architects Ltd

ACN No 008 531 851

Agenda Item	Minutes
Welcome by National     President, Shaun Walsh	<ul> <li>AILA President Shaun Walsh (SW) welcomed members to the 2020 Australian Institute of Landscape Architecture Ltd Annual General Meeting and gave an Acknowledgement of Country.</li> </ul>
	SW declared the meeting open at 11:00am.
2. Attendance	<ul> <li>AILA Executive Officer Lucy Sheaves (LS) confirmed that the quorum for the meeting had been met.</li> </ul>
3. Noting of Proxies held	<ul> <li>LS confirmed the following Full Members submitted forms appointing the Chair as their proxy:</li> <li>Chak Shing Chan</li> <li>Adam Robilliard</li> <li>Martin O'Dea</li> <li>Crosbie Lorimer</li> <li>Carl Safstrom</li> <li>Stephanie Rogers</li> <li>Peta Miskovich</li> <li>David Jones</li> <li>Ferdinand Haefele.</li> </ul>
4. Confirmation of Minutes of previous Annual General Meeting Proposed Resolution - Motion to adopt the minutes of the 2019 AILA Annual General Meeting and acknowledge these as an official record of the meeting.	<ul> <li>Copies of the previous minutes were made available through the AILA website and the link was shared with all Full Members via EDM notice.</li> <li>SW asked if there were any questions or comments about the Minutes from the previous AGM.</li> <li>No questions were raised.</li> <li>Motion tabled to adopt the minutes of the 2019 AILA Annual General Meeting, and acknowledge these as an official record of the meeting.</li> <li>Sara Padgett Kjaersgaard moved, Amalie Wright seconded,</li> </ul>
	motion carried.

- The President's report was tabled.
- SW thanked fellow Directors, volunteers and staff for their contribution.
- SW gave a summary of AILA's activities, challenges, and opportunities over the 2019-20 period as per the President's Report.
- AILA CEO Ben Stockwin (BS) gave a summary of the audited financial statements.
- SW asked if there were any questions or comments about the Annual report including the Presidents Report and audited financial statements.
- Question from Sara Padgett Kjaersgaard: Regarding the Members Guarantee in section 17 of the audited financial statements, the number appears to refer to Full Members when the Constitution states this guarantee should apply to all Members. Was this a mistake?
- It was noted as an action that the CEO would look further into this and address.
- Question from Noel Corkery: Section 5 Revenue and Other Income references "Other grants income". What does this mean?
- SW answered that the "Other grants income" item was the Job Keeper payment.
- SW requested a mover and seconder for the Motion to accept the Annual report (including the Presidents Report and audited financial statements).
- Noel Corkery moved, Jerry De Gryse seconded, motion carried.

### 5. Presentation of:

- a. Annual Financial Report
- b. Auditors Report
- c. Directors Report

Proposed Resolution - Motion to accept the Annual report (including the Directors Report and audited financial statements).

### 5. Confirmation of auditor

Proposed Resolution - Motion to accept Vincents Pty Ltd as the Auditor for the 2020/2021 financial year

- SW requested a mover and seconder for the Motion to accept Vincents Pty Ltd as the Auditor for the 2020/2021 financial year.
- Shannon Satherley moved, Andrew Mackenzie seconded, motion carried.

#### 6. Election of Directors

a. Declaration of elected candidates by Chair

- Shaun Walsh advised that as at this AGM he is no longer Director and asked the CEO to Chair the balance of the AGM.
- BS handed to Company Secretary Chris Tidswell (CT) who, on behalf of the Board, expressed gratitude for Shaun's leadership over the last eight years and proposed a formal motion to thank Shaun.
- Jerry De Gryse moved, Kat Nieberler-Walker seconded, motion carried.

- BS announced the elected Directors by name as below:
  - Claire Martin (CM)
  - Katharina Nieberler-Walker (KNW)
  - Jasmine Ong (JO).
- CM thanked SW for his leadership and thanked Members for the honour of being re-elected.
- KNW looks forward to listening to comments and feedback from members to best represent AILA as a whole.
- JO feels fortunate to join the Board with such strong governance in place and is looking forward to genuine conversations to provide value to AILA and the profession.
- Peta-Maree Ashford (PMA) would like to congratulate CM, KNW, and JO for being elected to Board. PMA feels the challenges of the past year have brought about new opportunities for the profession and looks forward to advocating for landscape architecture.
- CT would like to thank the membership as the backbone of the organisation and would like to congratulate the elected members of the Board.
- The roles of the Board will be elected by the Board in a meeting on Friday 16 October.

## Any other business which may be legally brought forward by members

If any is submitted in accordance to the Notice

No items raised by notice.

# 8. Any general questions & discussions?

- Question from Sara Padgett-Kjaersgaard: In reference to the number I mentioned before, this indicated an increase in membership. Does the Board consider this to be a high number or low number for the organisation?
- CM answered in consideration of the circumstances of this financial year period, the board considers this to be a good result.
- PMA though we acknowledge the increase in membership, there are 45% of landscape architects who are not members so AILA is working to increase value proposition.

### 9. Closure

• BS declared the AGM closed at 11:37am.

# 2020 Meeting Attendance (as recorded from the chat log sign in)



### **AILA Full Members**

- Adrian Gray
- 2. Alexandria Woodward
- 3. Amalie Jane Wright
- 4. Andrew MacKenzie
- 5. Andrew Thomas
- 6. Annabel Murray
- 7. Anne Lucas
- 8. Blanka Sparovec
- 9. Carina Green
- 10. Chris Tidswell
- 11. Claire Martin
- 12. David Uhlmann
- 13. Deiter Llm
- 14. Dion Gery
- 15. Ella Gauci-Seddon

- 16. Fei Wang
- 17. Gerald Louis De Gryse
- 18. Jasmine Ong
- 19. Jessica Gigliotti
- 20. Jessica Stewart
- 21. Jo Russell-Clarke
- 22. Jocelyn Chiew
- 23. Johanna Picton
- 24. Joshua Zeunert
- 25. Julie Lee
- 26. Lee Andrews
- 27. Linda Corkery
- 28. Mark Frisby
- 29. Melanie Bradley
- 30. Miranda Wilkinson

- 31. Miriam Enoch
- 32. Nick Stephenson
- 33. Nicole Croudace
- 34. Noel Corkery
- 35. Peta-Maree Ashford
- 36. Ronald Jones
- 37. Samuel Hare
- 38. Sara Padgett Kjaersgaard
- 39. Shannon Satherley
- 40. Shaun Walsh
- 41. Sulochi Walisinghe
- 42. Tessa Leggo
- 43. Zinta Lazdins

## Also in attendance:

- 44. Ben Stockwin AILA CEO
- 45. Bronwen Hamilton
- 46. Carmen Williams | AILA Staff
- 47. Catherine Horner | AILA Staff
- 48. Claire Morford-Waite
- 49. Lucia Melchiors
- 50. Lucy Sheaves | AILA Staff
- 51. Martha Delfas | AILA Staff
- 52. Melanie West IAILA Staff
- 53. Tessa Faucheur | AILA Staff
- 54. Zachary Jones